Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/4/2006 9:58:13 PM EDT
Hi all,

First I just want to say thank you all for such a wealth of information.  I purchased my first AR roughly a year ago and since that time there hasn't been a single question I've had that was not directly answered on here or by following an offsite link.  With that said, keep in mind I am still somewhat new to ARs and this is my first post.

I have a pre-ban Olympic CAR-AR carbine (with the SGW crest). To the best of my knowledge I am the third owner of the weapon and it is still in unmodified OEM form. I also know there are many on here that despise OLY, but please bare with me.  

The rifle is in very good condition, however since I was not the original owner I've decided to replace some simple parts in the bolt carrier such as the extractor, extractor spring, firing pin etc.

During this process I discovered an article on OLY's website Full vs. Semi Bolt Carriers about semi-auto bolt carriers vs. full auto.  After reading it I discovered that by the article's definition of a "full auto" bolt carrier that I indeed have one.  Their main defining characteristic being that both the top and bottom rear portions are equal and also a fully covered firing pin area is present.  Before we go any further, trust me I have triple checked this, both top and bottom are PERFECTLY equal, the bottom is NOT off by just a little bit, it is the same.

With all of that being said my question is, instead of rebuilding the bolt carrier like I planned, should I just get a new complete bolt carrier?  The thought behind that being that I do not want a "full auto" bolt carrier in my AR to avoid legal trouble. I love my AR and my freedom and have no intention of jeopardizing either. Any advice?

Thanks, Jon

P.S. I know this post was long, but I felt it being my first and all I should tag on an intro.
Link Posted: 3/4/2006 10:07:46 PM EDT
[#1]