Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 2/8/2006 7:13:11 AM EDT
Everyone that I have ever met or talked to that has sought out formal training or competed with their AR in one way or another has come back with lessons learned about gear or technique that they never would have picked up otherwise.  Training and competing put you under much different conditions than sitting at the bench at your local 100 yard range and plinking away.

So, what have you learned?  It could be a gear lesson (i.e. "single point slings just don't work for me") or it could be a technique lesson (i.e. "I shoot much better with my collapsible stock on position 2").

For me I have learned that I shoot better with the stock in further.  When standing bladed at the static range I always ran the stock all the way out.  But when I started shooting on the move, engaging multiple targets, etc. I discovered that it was much better to be squared off to the target.  It gave me more room to swivel on my hips and made it easier to shoot on the move.  In order to do this I had to move the stock in closer to get a comfortable grip on the magwell and maintain my eye relief.

I also learned that taclights on the starboard side of the rail aren't optimal for me.  Reaching under the rail with my thumb puts my hand at an awkward angle when shooting and moving, and having the light on the port side of the rail eliminates this problem.  This has caused me to change the type of light/mount from what I was using previously.

Let's hear yours.
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 7:33:17 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 7:38:27 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 7:49:30 AM EDT
[#3]
Physical training is what my weakest point is. Beyond  trigger time, MY weakened body structure and vascular system need improvement .
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 8:08:17 AM EDT
[#4]