Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/7/2006 10:30:45 PM EDT
Hello,

I am new to the black rifle and looking for one. Some local guy wants to sell me a brand new LMT upper assembly for $420 delivered plus tax. I don't know if it is worth the price. Let me know your opinion.

According to this guy, his description is like this:

- 1X7 16" chrome-lined M4 profile BBL, installed
- A2 flash hider installed
- standard FSB with sight post, installed
- gas tube installed
- no handguard
- M4 feed ramp
- T numbered flat top LMT upper receiver
- EJ/FA installed
- no BT/BC/CH

Guys, how do you think? Need to make decision soon. Thanks!!!
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 12:42:56 AM EDT
[#1]
Welcome to the ar15 forum,

personally I think thats way too much. But I should also inquire about its condition is it used and how used is it?

Link Posted: 2/8/2006 12:56:14 AM EDT
[#2]
actually thats seems like a good deal,brand new lLMT upper minus bolt carrier/charging handles/handguards going rate are $475-$485 from most vendors
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 2:29:30 AM EDT
[#3]
If it is genuine LMT M4 upper, that is a good buy

almost every dealer around sells that exact same set-up for $485

Which is in and of itself, disturbing. Its price fixing plain and simple, but that wasn't the question

You will be able to ID it as genuine LMT, 2 ways (or more)

1. LMT uppers have the LMT logo emblazoned on the shooters left side just below the rail and facing left.
like in this pic, borrowed from BravoCompany Website

2. The upper will be Duracoat-ed. This finish is at first glance almost like a bluing. Beautiful stuff

Then the M4 ramps will be visible, blah, blah, blah

edit in a couple things, svjos

welcome to AR15.com!

and unless you  are Law Enforcement or similar, that upper will land you in court. Check local and state laws on it first

but you probably already know all that

good luck!
Link Posted: 2/8/2006 3:02:43 AM EDT
[#4]