Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/30/2006 8:52:34 AM EDT
I sold my duty rifle and am looking to order a Rock River tactical rifle...I'm seeking anyone with experience who could offer suggestions on which model might be best. It will be for use in the patrol division. My plan on this one would be to go with the standard sights, and possibly a laser sighting device, but I have no experience with them, having had an Aimpoint on my last rifle. Many thanks....
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 8:56:59 AM EDT
[#1]
get with adco firearms, he offers lots of rra products
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 9:20:08 AM EDT
[#2]
I would check either the Tactical Entry, the CAR A4, or the Elite CAR A4 which has the mid-length gas system and handguards. I bought the CAR A4.  Only difference between Tactical Entry and CAR is the grenade launcher notch in barrel.  For civilian and police use its strictly cosmetic.  Many people like it because it has more of an original "M4" look.  I believe these are the only two in 5.56 that I would recommend for patrol use.  I wish I would have bought the mid length because it's gas system is suppose to be, in theory,  a little more reliable and less stress on weapon.  Many report a lighter recoil.  The mid length is also good for  people who like to grab the handguard a little close to the muzzle .  I bought mine from Eaglefirearms.NET and found them to have to best internet prices and great customer service.  Good luck. Oh yeah, if you want chrome lined barrel you have to specify it  with RRA weapons.
Link Posted: 1/30/2006 2:41:30 PM EDT
[#3]
You might want to check out the RRA DEA rifle (or do they call it the Government model?) specs and then build one up from parts or a kit.  Seems to cover a lot of the bases.  I built kind of an upgraded version of it with a GTS 16" midlength Recon barrel; turned out nice.