Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/15/2006 2:06:49 PM EDT
This is probably a dumb question, but I'm new to ARs (not guns).

I just got a Colt LE6920, and have been zeroing it, field stripping, "bonding"....
You all would be proud of me. I noticed a ding on the finish (not sure if I did it or not), but I don't care.

My question is this: I noticed that the bracket that holds the rear iron sight will move back and forth when I torque on it. Seems to spring back into a position, but it still jiggles. Is this the way they're designed? The fixed sights on my other firearms are quite immovable once you adjust them.
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 2:07:55 PM EDT
[#1]
That is the way it should be. No worries.
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 2:49:44 PM EDT
[#2]
Good.

The other thing I noticed was that when I first removed the handguard, there was a rubber band inside! It could've burned me if it melted into my palm. Should I return it to Colt?

Just kidding. It's true, but I think I can deal with it.
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 3:13:27 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
That is the way it should be. No worries.

+1

a rubberband under the handguards? add it to the list of other things under colts quality control
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 5:52:24 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
a rubberband under the handguards? add it to the list of other things under colts quality control

Link Posted: 1/15/2006 6:28:21 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Everyone's quality control slips. I'm just glad that when colt's quality control slips, all that goes wrong is a rubber band where it doesn't belong.  I would rather have that than canted front sights and purple recievers...
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 6:30:52 PM EDT
[#6]
Ah, but purple is the color of royalty.........at least that is what my niece says as she parades around my sister's place.
Link Posted: 1/15/2006 9:01:41 PM EDT
[#7]
www.armalite.com/library/techNotes/tnote18.htm