Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/6/2006 4:26:20 AM EDT
I've got a chance to make a trade on a KAC VFG.  I've never used one of these before, or any VFG for that matter, but see that a lot of people do.  I'm wondering what benefits a VFG will give me.  Are there also disadvantages to a VFG, besides the extra weight?  Thanks for helping me out.  MJD
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 5:17:27 AM EDT
[#1]
The extra weight isn't a very big issue to me as it's only a few extra ounces unless you put on what I've got , the Sure Fire M910A.  It's more of a comfort factor and control for the shooter.  Can lower a little bit of muzzle climb with it on  rapid firing.  Just my 2 cents.

Link Posted: 1/6/2006 5:49:11 AM EDT
[#2]
Advantages
- The ergonomics of the VFG make it easier to support the the rifle for extended periods of time.
- The VFG makes makes follow up shots at CQB distances easier.

Disadvantages
- It will add some (4-8 oz) weight.
- Adds a protuberance which may get in the way though so does a 30 rnd mag.
- Can make precise longish range (100 yds +) shots more difficult.

I've got rail systems on all my ARs and I have VFGs for all of them but right now, none of them are wearing a VFG and I don't miss it. YMMV of course.
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 5:53:13 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

Disadvantages

Why?
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 5:58:50 AM EDT
[#4]
The vfg can make it hard to get proper hand placement for stabilizing the front end for long shots where the slightest wobble can throw your shot off by several inches.  IMO pulling the rifle/carbine back tight into your shoulder using the vfg creates more wobble than if you are holding the rifle the traditional way. YMMV.
Link Posted: 1/6/2006 6:06:32 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Disadvantages

Why?

What PBIR said. I've tried making 100 yd shots using the VFG and I am more precise and accurate when I don't use the VFG.