Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/4/2006 8:11:00 AM EDT

Hi.  I have a 16” Bushmaster Lightweight that shot flawlessly up to this point.  I have had three jams in short order and no longer trust it.  I did a little research and it seems like the gun may be short stroking.  The strange part is I shot 500rds of wolf through it without one jam when I got it.  A few months back I got a military .22lr conversion kit for it.  I put maybe 700rds through it with frequent cleanings.  Now that it has jammed a few times with 5.56 ammo I am concerned that maybe it got some led in the gas hole from the .22s.  Could this have happened?  If so, how can I fix it?
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 8:14:33 AM EDT
[#1]
shoot brake cleaner through it

shoot 5.56/.223 through to clean it out

check your mags

explain what type of jams you are having
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 8:26:00 AM EDT
[#2]
The jams I have had have all been the same FTE.  The bolt has caught the spent brass by the neck, so it sticks out of the gun like a stove pipe.  The hammer is back and a bullet is in the chamber.  I dont understand how this jam is happining.
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 9:28:37 AM EDT
[#3]
lead fouling in the barrels hole for the gas port?
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 10:17:27 AM EDT
[#4]
Replace the mag, and shoot some hotter ammo to see if it works OK. If it does, try the wolf again. I'd doubt lead plugged the port up as I have a lot of .22 thru one upper and It shot fine when I tried it with .223 ammo.
Link Posted: 1/4/2006 11:59:19 AM EDT
[#5]