Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/23/2005 6:50:35 PM EDT
Hello to all

nice to meet all of you, i am new guy here in northeastern wisconsn.

I am starting my first AR build, and i was wondering if i am correct and starting things right

iam going to get a kit from model1sales for a 24" varment rifle kit

all i need is a stripped lower and i am off to the range... right?

is the 24" er shaw barrel a good choice or is there a beter thing for me to hunt for.  (I am looking to start,not the best)

thanks for putting up with the new dumb dumb questions

SS
Link Posted: 12/23/2005 6:52:04 PM EDT
[#1]
I would not go with a 24", but the kit will give you everything except the lower receiver.
Link Posted: 12/24/2005 7:41:59 AM EDT
[#2]
ok, like i say, i am new to the ar stuff, so why not the 24" gun, and is that a full lower or just the stripped lower?

thanks for the replys and the patients

SS
Link Posted: 12/24/2005 7:53:13 AM EDT
[#3]
The 24" AR seems to be better suited for bench work, and not for carrying around.  This is my personal opinion, and there are no doubt people who are going to say that they feel comfortable walking around with a 24" heavy barrel rifle all day in the woods.  I would submit most of those people have never actually done this.

A 20" barrel gives you good velocity, and keeps a manageable barrel length and weight to the weapon.   The 24" is unwieldy to me.

The kit comes with everything you need with the exception of a stripped lower.
Link Posted: 12/24/2005 8:16:33 AM EDT
[#4]
I agree with Stickman on the 24" subject

If I recall correctly the 24" has no benefit - ballistics-wise - over the 20"er

Plus, I would guess there are fewer than one 24" AR15 in every 100. That says something about its place in the AR world.

Recommend you spend a few hours in the forums here - AR15 Discussions, Built it Yourself, and Industry Forum, to learn what the experts are saying