Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/21/2005 9:17:28 AM EDT
Hey guys,
I could really use some opinions on what i should buy for my first rifle.  Im leaning towards an ar-15 but there is so many configs and options its got my head spinning.  I dont really have a lotta scratch to use and was hoping for something around 600-700.  I went to a shop and the guy was asking 900 for an ar-15 with a match barrel.  Im fairly new to shooting aside from my high school riflery team so buying an already upgraded rifle isnt a big priority.  Can you guys suggest a setup i can get in the 600-700 range? I dont really mind buying used either unless there is a major reason provided not too.  Im also going to check out another place around my house who supposedly has a big selection of ar-15's and hope hes got a good price.  Thanks in advance for the help and i hope this isnt posted in the wrong place in any case dont jump the n00b!
Link Posted: 12/21/2005 9:19:00 AM EDT
[#1]
You live in NY state, which means you are stuck with your own private version of weapon ban hell.

If I were you, I would look around and consider my options.  You could probably get a lightly used AWB compliant upper, and build an M16A2 or M16A4 clone for that price range.

The below pictured weapon is one that I threw together during the AWB.
Link Posted: 12/21/2005 9:32:34 AM EDT
[#2]
thats a nice gun.  Im not sure what you mean by "awb"  and also is there anything really difficult about building it yourself because keep in mind this would be my first.
Link Posted: 12/21/2005 9:45:39 AM EDT
[#3]