Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/14/2005 1:24:05 PM EDT
Hey folks...  I'm a newbie to the AR15 world and I love my RRA.  I do have a question though.

If I were to put my RRA in a gun bag and leave it alone for 10 years should I have any issues with proper functioning when it take it out to use it?

What is the best method to keep one stored in my closet for an extended period of time?  (Thinking of future purchases here)  
Link Posted: 12/14/2005 1:28:03 PM EDT
[#1]
I am by no means a firearms expert, but my guess is that you wouldn't have a problem.  Just looking at other quality firearms like the M1 Garand; sixty years later, many service rifles are still funtioning well with little work on them.  The AR-15 is made out of newer, stronger, more durable materials.  Also, as long as the barrel is chrome lined, and is kept in a dry area, I see little problem with rust or corrosion.  

I'd be interested to hear someone with more experience and knowledge respond on this.
Link Posted: 12/14/2005 1:28:38 PM EDT
[#2]
This is a new one

But to answer your question;  you shouldn't have a problem as long as it was stored properly,

i.e., lots of clp (or the like) in the weapon, and the bore.
Link Posted: 12/14/2005 1:31:07 PM EDT
[#3]
Stored properly - i.e. with a light coating of oil, and in a dry (no humitidy) environment, it will be fine - even for many decades.

If you truly want to STORE it for a long time, you might want to look at something like cosmoline (which is more like a presevative grease or something to that efffect) and store it in a dry air-tight container.  If you do that, it will last for a thousand years.  
Link Posted: 12/14/2005 1:34:51 PM EDT
[#4]