Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/6/2005 4:45:14 PM EDT
I am new to this website, in fact I am new to the AR-15 so I don't know all the in's and out's about the gun.  I am looking for a military issue smei-auto, but I would prefer one in a 7.62x39 caliber.  No ak-47,I had one, like, not in love with it.  I still have my SKS.  Looking for an AR in 7.62 but they are had to find.  I know colt use to make one and DPMS make a upper, but I am not so sure about these since the 30 round mags are hard to find.  I recently found the Vulcan AR-47 and I am interested in it.  I like the fact that it uses AK mags, but I won't be able to use the lower for anything else.  Does anyone have any experiance with the AR-47 or Vulcan AR's that the can share.  Also, I am use to guns that I can put a thousand rounds through with out a jam and without a good cleaning.  From what I read you have to keep tha AR super clean or it will not function well, how clean do you have to keep it and how many rounds before you clean it?

AR-47

Also, do anyone have anything good or bad to say about the CETME .308 HK 91 clone?  This is another gun I was looking at, but I have heard mixed feelings towards it.

Thanks!!!
Link Posted: 12/6/2005 5:01:22 PM EDT
[#1]
Where's that run forrest graphic when you need it?

ETA:  Cetme's are kinda luck of the draw...  I wouldn't buy it sight unseen.  Some probs include ground bolts/headspace issues, rough actions, trigger issues.  I think JLD Ptr-91's are a better proposition...
Link Posted: 12/6/2005 5:30:16 PM EDT
[#2]
(I'm saying this in a nice helpful way, not snotty).

Check out the AK-47 Forum here on ARF.  They know a bunch about this (although I heard the same thing - run from the Vulcan - but I think there's a Vector and a Robinson that are both good.  But the AK guys can tell you).