Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/13/2005 8:31:31 PM EDT
Im nearing my first buy : )

Im going for a RRA - A basic starter ( should be able to pick one up at the show for about 700-800) - I would prefer a detachable handel which brings me to my question:

What is better - The detachable carry handels? or the Forged handels that arent removable - I will want to mount a scope in the near future - But from the parts ive seen - Thats do-able even with the handel right ?

I apprceiate the patience you guys have shown me - Im a newbie I know : ) But thanks

Link Posted: 9/13/2005 8:37:58 PM EDT
[#1]
Get the detachable carry handle.

If you're going to add optics in the future, you'll be glad you got the flattop and detachable carry handle.

WIZZO
Link Posted: 9/13/2005 8:42:38 PM EDT
[#2]
If you know that you are going to use optics, why not just get a flat top with a flip up BUIS?
Link Posted: 9/13/2005 9:08:17 PM EDT
[#3]
Well from what Ive found (correct me if im wrong) The flat top with lip up BUIS is a bit more pricey -

I forgot to mention im getting married at the end of the year : ) so money is an issue right now

Basically im scraping up money from little side jobs im doing here and there - and not taking away from my "actual income"

So I think what im gonna go for is a RRA flat top with detachable carry handel

Theres a gun show coming up at the end of the month - What do you suppose one of those will run (im guessing between 700 to 800) But maybe im top hopeful
Link Posted: 9/13/2005 9:14:45 PM EDT
[#4]
Bottom line is, get a flat top! Then decide if you want a carry handle to use as a your  rear irons. Look around the tacked picture thread. You will see that there are a million choices / configurations you can do with your irons.