Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/14/2005 10:44:44 PM EDT
 If i'm under 21, and i can't even buy pistol ammo; could i still own a pistol caliber AR?rifle?

Thanx, NightWolf
Link Posted: 3/14/2005 10:47:56 PM EDT
[#1]
Depending on your state you can own a pistol, just not buy it or the ammo.

Probably again a state regulation, but my understanding is the 9mm AR is a rifle so you must be over 18 to own it. Getting ammo will be tricky because it is "pistol ammo".

And now we get to why the legislation is so stupid, "pistol" ammo doesn't mean it can't be fired from a carbine. I think your only problem would be ammo would be a pain to get ahold of.

But I'm not a lawyer. I think you'd still be okay though.
Link Posted: 3/14/2005 10:54:46 PM EDT
[#2]
Here in my state I was told one time by a clerk that if I told him the pistol ammo was for a rifle then I would be able to buy it. That was before I was 21. It was about a year ago. Probably varies state to state.
Link Posted: 3/14/2005 10:59:16 PM EDT
[#3]
oklahoma is same way if it for rifle you can buy pistol ammo
Link Posted: 3/15/2005 1:14:57 AM EDT
[#4]
I had bough an AR 9mm carbine when was 18.
When I needed ammo I just brought it with me in a soft case to a small gun shop and said in my most innocent voice, "I need ammo for this rifle my dad gave me".

Then I unzipped the case and they looked at it and told me that it shot 9mm and that it was $100 a thousand or $6.50 a box of 50.
I successfully purchased ammo from them so I just kept going to the same place.
I usually tried to get 1,000 rnds at a time, if I had the money.

In AZ it is illegal to purchase, from an ffl, a handgun or ammo intended for use in a handgun while under the age of 21.
By explaining it was to be used in my rifle the ammo became intended for rifle use.

Funny thing was it worked just fine in my 9mm pistol too.