Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/11/2005 6:29:39 AM EDT
Greetings to everyone, i am new to firearms and own a 9mm handgun. I am very interested in getting a rifle next and am leaning to an ar15. I would use it frequently at the range and maybe be interested in hunting if it is possible with it. can anyone suggest a good reliable model or manufacturer. I have seen many prices and options but don't think they would all apply to what I want to do. Thanks
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 6:36:25 AM EDT
[#1]
Colt , Bushy, DSA/LMT, RRA, Armalite, Oly, DPMS.Or All of them ( In that order IMHO)
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 6:42:12 AM EDT
[#2]
for your first AR stay in the top tier:

Colt
Armalite
Bushmaster
Link Posted: 3/11/2005 6:49:36 AM EDT
[#3]
The "which Brand is best" question is a very controversial topic here.

Here's my take.

Excellent
Colt
Bushmaster
Wilson Combat
Barrett

Very Good
RRA
Armalite/Eagle Arms
Fulton Armory
DS ARms
Stag Arms
CMMG (now make their own brand)

Good
Olympic
Cavalry Arms
DPMS
DoubleStar

Fair to Poor
American Spirit ARms

Avoid at all Costs
Hesse
Vulcan Arms
Parts guns made of parts of unknown origin.

The new one to watch is Leitner-Wise, they have the potential to be the latest "new best thing" out there. Also note that rifles built on a stripped receiver from parts of varied sources can range from excellent to abysmal depending on who built it and what parts were used. Beware parts guns built on big name receivers being pushed as the real McCoy.

Unfortunately, the AR15 is so modular and so widely cloned that authenticity of used and to a lesser extent new rifles can be hard to determine unless you are familiar with markings and characteristics.  Of course the modularity and wide availability of parts and accessories is also what makes them so appealing and addictive.