Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/15/2004 9:28:11 AM EDT
I would like to build one for closer range work, and more of  a toy then a defensive weapon...  ( AR's arent meant for home intrusion anyway...lol)  

I would like to hear from guys here that OWN a 11.5 AR.  Please, no opinions on what is best for the armchair warrior SHTF scenarios...  I looked at past threads, and people always loose control and get off track.     Does your 11.5 hold decent groups, and if so how far?  I doubt ever shooting with this rifle past 100 yrds.   Also, I would like to use my suppresor on it.  I machined it myself, ( yes I have tax stamp)  and wondered if anyone is using a sound suppressor on their 11.5.    Pics are always welcome... Remember guys... shooting is also fun... so please keep this thread that way  ;)
Link Posted: 10/15/2004 12:43:04 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a Bushmaster 11.5 with a 5.5 FH. I really like it. Like you I realize that you need to keep the range realistic. Mine is a A3 with Leatherwood 1x50 Red Dot. Bushmaster flip up BUIS. Both the dot and the iron sights are sighted in for POA/POI at 50 yds. I took it to the range yesterday and consistently grouped 2 inches or less at 50 yds. from a kneeling position. At 100yds from kneeling I was shooting 4 inch groups. I can and it will do better from a rest or prone. So all in all it has all the accuracy that you would ever need. I have shot 3 shot groups from a rest at 50 yds. and placed 2 shots into one ragged hole, with the 3rd shot a half inch away. I don't have a suppressor so I can't comment on that. I think you would be happy with it given those guidelines. No it's not a 300 yd. setup, but for what it's designed for it will more than do the job. Hope this helps.
Link Posted: 10/15/2004 1:20:34 PM EDT
[#2]