Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/23/2004 10:05:02 AM EDT
I know that I will need a barrel wrench to remove my old one, but I have never done anything like this before.   Is it pretty simple or should I have a Gunsmith do it???  I feel more comfortable doing certain things myself but is this above my ability???
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:09:31 AM EDT
[#1]
www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=4&t=202467, Tacked to the top of the "Build IT Yourself Forum"

Mike
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:09:50 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I know that I will need a barrel wrench to remove my old one, but I have never done anything like this before.   Is it pretty simple or should I have a Gunsmith do it???  I feel more comfortable doing certain things myself but is this above my ability???

So long as you have the tools it is easy as can be.  Barrel wrench, torque wrench, vice, vice blocks, a hammer and a couple of pin punches.
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:11:04 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:11:26 AM EDT
[#4]
Yikes so I need all those tools.....?   Maybe I wont do this myself.   I was thinking that all I need is a barrel wrench....  hmmmm
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:15:53 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
Yikes so I need all those tools.....?   Maybe I wont do this myself.   I was thinking that all I need is a barrel wrench....  hmmmm

Given how quickly ya posted your response, suspect ya didn't even look at the procedure pictured in the link above I posted, it ain't hard or that expensive.....

Mike
Link Posted: 9/23/2004 10:16:37 AM EDT
[#6]
Don't use anti-seize, use GREASE, moly grease is preferable, which is common wheel bearing grease.

Don't use barrel vise jaws, I don't care that is what the military uses.  Use vise jaws for changing flash hiders and working off front sight bases.