Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/30/2004 9:23:52 AM EDT
Hello All
Getting ready for my first AR:
Very experienced with handguns-firing, breakdown,etc- but a total newbie to AR type rifles.
My Needs:
* Target practice(once I learn to fire it)hock.gif
* SHTF, Zombies, Pink Elephants, Terrorist Invations, ETChandle* 16.1 barrel-so I don't have to permanently install muzzle device
* "Great Look and Feel"
he"Rolex"
First Buy--Post Sept 14 is almost definitely going to be a Colt.
Models I am considering:
* AR 6721
* AR 6920
* Possibly others

My Questions:
* Is this My Ticket--Pros and Cons
* Is getting a LEO only, Gov only going to be problematic in the future?

Thanks in Advance his
Honey Grab My Xanax
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:18:58 AM EDT
[#1]
Almost forgot,
Are these barrels threaded or permanently affixed FH?
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:24:46 AM EDT
[#2]
Get the 16" M4, it sounds like what you are looking for.  The AR15A3/ Tactical Carbine is nice, but it is heavy.  If you plan on mainly range shooting, it is a great AR15.  If you plan on doing a lot of moving around for extended periods, the lighter weight M4 is a better mousetrap.
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:31:51 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for your reply

So 6920 or 6921-Pros and cons of getting 14.5 w/ permanently attached FH vs 16.1
w/ theaded?
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:34:12 AM EDT
[#4]
Oh and yes
I am definitely "Skiddish" about LEO marked Rifle-Should I be?
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:36:33 AM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:37:19 AM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 8/30/2004 10:46:27 AM EDT
[#7]
I think the best question would be, why would you want a 14.5" barrel?  I have one, but I do a lot of room clearing, building searches and other type work.  I also carry it in a vehicle, and deploy out of a vehicle with it often.  If you don't do those things, there really isn't much use for a 14.5" barrel.