Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/19/2004 9:06:13 PM EDT
Can anyone tell me if RR ar's have a sear block in the reciever?

Just for info, Also my Department has purchesed RR M4's and they have a new feature that I'm new to in the upper receiver there are two notches that have been machined out. If you notice on a  regular AR you may have feeding problems with rounds striking the upper reciever just above the magizine well my bushmaster has two points of impact that you can see the finish has worn where the rounds are double stacked in the magizine and strike every now and then its not a big problem for FMJ's but if you use lead nose soft points you will have problems well getting back to the topic they have machined the two strike points out and made a "feeding ramp" it looks like it will work let me know if Rock River isnt the only one doing this
Link Posted: 8/19/2004 10:35:12 PM EDT
[#1]
you mean like this?

But, if you buy the stripped upper, it doesn't come with them machined, you get to Dremel them in yourself!  Who hasn't always wanted to dremel their gun!  

Link Posted: 8/20/2004 6:28:46 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:

...they have machined the two strike points out and made a "feeding ramp" it looks like it will work let me know if Rock River isnt the only one doing this

Take a gander at THE thread on M4 feed ramps and all your questions will be answered.

ETA - Regarding your question about sear blocks:  Yes, RRA lower receivers have a high shelf.
Link Posted: 8/20/2004 6:40:05 AM EDT
[#3]
no sear block, and M4 cuts are not really needed
Link Posted: 8/20/2004 6:54:04 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
Who hasn't always wanted to dremel their gun!  

While Dremels definitely have their place in a good gunsmith's hands, I share your sentiment on the potential overuse/abuse of Dremels that has been shown occasionally on these forums.
Link Posted: 8/26/2004 6:49:29 PM EDT