Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/18/2003 3:30:38 PM EDT
Hi People I am a complete newbie and am considering my first AR. My primary use will be home/personal defense as well as some fun on the target range. I have read that a shotgun is a good choice for home defense due to it's lack of penetrating power. (ie won't go through walls etc and harm family members) should this be a major concern with the AR? I do have young children in my home. I feel however that the AR is more versatile and frankly more fun :-) So with my purpose in mind I am wondering what type of AR would be good for me. Cost is a factor but I would rather save a little longer and get a gun that will last..and be a good friend if/when I need it. There are so many configurations and typs that I am unsure what would be good for me. I have read through many posts and found many advising Kits/build yourself but as I don't have much build experience with firearms I don't feel comfortable going that way at first.
I have gotten the msg. and intend to go with one of the firearms from CRAB. So any input anyone may have is more then welcome. I would like to say that AR15.com is an awesome resource and the folks here seem great! Thanks Rick
Link Posted: 12/18/2003 3:42:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome aboard! Good to see you already know it will be your "first"!

Anyway, I would recommend a 16" carbine from any of the major companies. I'm partial to Bushmaster, Colt, and Armalite, not necessarily in that order. Any of those brands are top notch. The shorter barrel of a carbine makes it easier to wield in the confines of a house. Don't worry so much about accessories at first - get some trigger time instead. Familiarity and skill are things you should develop first, IMHO.