Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/21/2003 6:10:44 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster Shorty with the fixed (A2) handle.  When you look straight down at the rear sight mechanism it appears to be twisted slightly counterclockwise, or pointing to the left if you were looking at it from behind.  It is spring loaded so when you twist it straight, it always moves back to the left.  Has anyone noticed this before?  Is that normal?  It is accurate enough at the 30 to 50 yards that I plink at.  
Link Posted: 11/21/2003 6:28:57 PM EDT
[#1]
It's normal and has to work that way.
Jack
Link Posted: 11/21/2003 6:29:56 PM EDT
[#2]
Normal, mine is the same way. It's spring loaded so it stays zeroed. It is accurate to beyond your abillity.[;)]
Link Posted: 11/21/2003 6:30:28 PM EDT
[#3]
That is normal for a std. Bushmaster. Rock River Arms runs thiers with much less slop.

Match Shooters DCM get this fixed.
Link Posted: 11/22/2003 6:19:13 AM EDT
[#4]
Thanks.
Link Posted: 11/22/2003 6:45:16 AM EDT
[#5]
I wondered about this when I got my first AR and asked the same question on this site.
I thought it was a defect as well.
It just looks strange when you first see it.
Link Posted: 11/22/2003 8:08:17 AM EDT
[#6]
Armalite's take on this:

BACKGROUND: Customer calls have disclosed considerable confusion over the construction of the M16A2 type sight used on ArmaLite® AR-10B™ and M15™ series rifles.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FACTS: