Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/19/2003 7:09:23 PM EDT
Im a freshman in a community college, I am thinking of joining the reserves for a few years doing the one weekend a month one week a year thing. If I do join the Army reserve, what laws am I exempt from or what are now my limits? Im just trying to learn all I can before I sign on the dotted line. Also, anyone else in the reserves? What was your MOS?
Link Posted: 9/19/2003 8:12:01 PM EDT
[#1]
I don't believe you would be exempt from anything as far as your personal firearms go. Good luck with only serving one weekend a month with the way things are going.
Link Posted: 9/19/2003 10:51:15 PM EDT
[#2]
Military & LEO is No "get into the candystore free" card unless you are active duty. Even then you are more limited than you think. It is not worth it. Go to serve your country or to see if it's what you might like to do. Otherwise you're probably setting yourself up for a disappointing ride.
Link Posted: 9/20/2003 7:12:55 AM EDT
[#3]
This would be your Reserve "commitment" stated as simply as possible.

1. From the day you sign up/ship out to Basic Training, to the day your commitment ends is eight (8) years.  

2. The above mentioned Basic Training will last nine weeks give or take a week for travel and processing.

3. Then you will go to AIT (Advanced Individual Traing)to get your MOS (Military Occupational Specialty). Depending on what that is, it could take 8 to 10 weeks or up to almost a year for certain MOS's. What was it that you wanted to do?

4. When all this initial training is done, then you can return to home, work, or to school. Initially, We're talking about being gone for an average of 6 months. Can you put your life/school on hold for that long?