Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/6/2003 10:07:44 AM EDT
Are there different kind of supressors i see some ppl say flash supressors but does it also make the  rifle pretty quiet, im pretty new to AR's so i dont know much about it
thnx for the help
Link Posted: 8/6/2003 10:30:40 AM EDT
[#1]
There are 2 types of suppressors, one which only reduce flash, and have no effect on sound, and sound suppressors, which also eliminate muzzle flash. From what I have been told, the .223 cartridge is not a very good candidate for a sound suppressor (I still haven't used one).
Link Posted: 8/6/2003 11:10:13 AM EDT
[#2]
HKUMP45 is right.  here are the differences.  
a sound suppressor (or also known as a "silencer" or "can") looks like this
[img]http://www.gem-tech.com/Images/m496d-1S.jpg[/img]
a Silencer is made to reduce the noise or report of the rifle or host weapon
a Flash suppressor which is used to reduce muzzle flash and or muzzle rise on PRE_BAN rifles looks like this
[img]http://www.bushmaster.com/shopping/brakes/Images/Defaul1-small.gif[/img]
this is meant to reduce muzzle flash and also to launch grenades on the birdcage flash suppressors.

Does that answer your question?  There are also many various muzzle breaks that are meant to be cosmetic and also tame the wild muzzle rise of the .223 round  [rolleyes] like this one
[img]http://www.bushmaster.com/shopping/brakes/Images/yhm-259.jpg[/img]

edited to fix my fat fingering.
Link Posted: 8/6/2003 11:21:33 AM EDT
[#3]
Sound supressors are very effective on the .223 shot through an AR.

Ppffft, clack rather than KABOOM! [:D]
Link Posted: 8/6/2003 12:48:39 PM EDT
[#4]