Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/20/2018 8:36:10 AM EDT
[Last Edit: BassFishing]
Greetings,

I'd like to get your input please, if you have time. I have the Rock River national match AR15 (5.56 mm). It has the 20" stainless match barrel. I just got this rifle and it only has 300 rounds through it yet. I'm new to high power rifle. I shot one CMP XTC match and it was very fun. I came in last place but it was still fun. I was talking to someone at the gun club who said the barrel will need to be relaced after 3000-4000 rounds because it will be shot out. What if I don't replace it? I have 200 rounds through it just from two range practice sessions, so my barrel is going to be shot out fast by that logic.
But what if I just keep shooting with it? Will I still be competitive in a match or is it going to be totally impossible to call my shots or to win? I am just a beginner, so does it really matter at my skill level? I don't understand how a barrel can be shot out after 3000 rounds. Maybe it would only show at the 600 yard line? That is the hardest part of the course for me. These CMP high power rifle matches require us to fire at 200, 300, and 600 yards.
Maybe the 200 and 300 yard line would not be a problem with an old barrel, but 600 may be?
Thank you!
Link Posted: 6/20/2018 1:48:08 PM EDT
[#1]
Serious competitors switch barrels faster than others. If all you want is 1/2 MOA groups, then you might need to switch them out that fast. I've only had 1 barrel open up. It was a DPMS stainless MK12 barrel on my 3 gun AR. It was a solid 1 MOA barrel for 6000-7000 rounds then over that last season opened up to 2 MOA. For 3 gun, I wasn't too worried about until I was struggling to hit 60% silhouettes at 400 yards.