Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/3/2012 7:02:35 PM EDT
I feel like I need to make an admission akin to how AA meetings go...  I'm a ham, and I'm not too good with the a few technical aspects of the hobby

So to my problem.   I bought a valley enterprises USB CT-62 CAT Cable (FTDI chipset) to connect my radio to my asus netbook.    HRD is not connecting IIRC it's saying frequency not detected.  

I'm perplexed because my USB CAT cable for my ICOM 718 from valley enterprises does allow me to connect to HRD without any problems.
-I do have the drivers installed and up to date.
-I'm using the same usb port
-I'm plugging the radio end of the cord into the right spot.

What else can I do to get my 857d connected to HRD before I worry about the cable being defective?
Cable: http://www.valley-ent.com/catalog/yaesu-ct62-cable-ft100-ft817-ft857-foot-ftdi-chipset-p-562.html

On another note what cable do I need to get to connect my signalink to my FT857d?   I got this cable and hope it's the right one.  I didn't get far enough to test it today as I spent all my time working with the USB CAT cable.

Thanks for any help
Link Posted: 1/3/2012 7:21:14 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm 99% sure you got the right data cable, the 6-pin cable is used on the 817 and 897s I've had, and the 857 should be the same, Yaesu is pretty standardized on the
6-pin.

Remember inside the tigerlink you need to bridge the right pins on the IC socket connector to get the audio in/out and PTT to the right pins on the cable.

On the USB cat cable, those are the cables I've used (Valley Enterprises) and I've been very happy with them. I doubt it's defective.

Key things to check are to make sure you've got the CAT data rate setting on both the radio and the PC set the same
(I think Yaesu defaults to 38400, Icom default is 19200) then of course you need to set HRD to use the Yaesu and not Icom.