Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/15/2009 5:51:48 PM EDT
As always, thanks for looking Also, I am a HAM newbie-so please forgive me if this is a really stupid question.

My county and state have active ARES/RACES groups that I would like to join. During an emergency I want to do my part to help, and becoming an ARES operator seems like an excellent way to do that.

My question is this: All of the operating frequencies for my local ARES group (K1STF Strafford County NH) are in the 2m band. Therefore, should I buy a dedicated 2m rig for my EMCOMM box? More specifically, is there a reason to have a multiband rig in my EMCOMM box if the local ARES group only uses 2m? Do you guys use your own EMCOMM boxes for other tasks besides ARES/RACES?

At the moment the only "rig" I own is a 5.5w Icom IC-V8 handy talkie (2m single band). Despite the simplicity and modest power output of my little Icom I can still reach three different repeaters in my area.

Obviously I'll get more information once I attend my first meeting, but I'm starting to think about constructing my first EMCOMM box and would like to get some expertise from the experienced operators here. I'm unsure about which direction to go, and I hate being unsure I'm trying hard to learn as much as I can-but this amateur radio stuff is a whole new world to me. I don't even know what I don't know yet, which is frustrating at times.

Thanks again for your help-and please accept my apology again if this is a really stupid question.
Link Posted: 9/15/2009 7:06:05 PM EDT
[#1]
i dont see a problem with running just a 2meter rig in your comm box. 440 isnt used much around here and i plan on running just a 2meter in my comm box. later down the road i may upgrade to a dual band or try band but for now the 2meter will serve me just fine.
Link Posted: 9/15/2009 7:32:19 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted: