Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/26/2021 1:45:51 PM EDT
I have both trucks pretty well stocked up for contingencies and "get home" scenarios, and guns/ammo/tactical side i'm set up well above average...but for now i'll go over my routine bug out stuff.

I'm no expert, but living all over the US we've gone through 2 major hurricanes, snowstorms, wildfires, etc, several of which we had as little as 45 minutes notice that we had to evacuate.   With that in mind, I made a "go shelf", where everything on the shelf can be tossed in a vehicle in the event we need to go somewhere.  The intent is to keep dedicated items consolidated somewhere to make things simple for my family should I not be home and they have to leave.    

On the shelf I keep my camping box on bottom, with normal camping supplies.  Tent, wet wipes, food prep stuff, etc. Then a couple cases of MREs, a toughbox full of freeze dried food, a couple buckets of FD food, a toughbox with 1lb gas cannisters, 2 burner stove, manual water pump, etc.  I also have a larger first aid kit in a sling bag that includes trauma as well as normal first aid items and meds.   I have a full size 20lb propane tank ready to go with a hose adapter for use on smaller stoves.  I have a couple sleeping bags and my actual go bag on top.  Not pictured is 3x 5 gallon water jugs that are stored inside to prevent freezing.

The go-bag is intended to be able to be grabbed as a standalone and have enough durable items to sustain 2-3 people, and water/rations for around 48 hours.  I decided to just make one bag pre-loaded as a no shit grab and go, but we have plenty of additional bags and gear available.  Ideally we can bring more but worst case this bag will keep people alive and going.   Best case it will augment us/them with durable survival goods.