Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/8/2011 9:53:52 AM EDT
Do you keep broad spectrum antibiotics in your BOB? I'm thinking about adding Cipro, Doxy and Amoxycillin as a step up from basic cold meds and imodium. Any other's recommended? The intent is that these would not be taken lightly but would be good to have if needed.
Link Posted: 3/8/2011 10:10:13 AM EDT
[#1]
Flagil for stomach bugs is also a good one to have.  Since I sail for a living, I have a doctor who prescribes antibiotics etc in advance for me to take along to whatever 3rd world hole I end up in next. I generally do not rely on the ships hospital.  I usually have Cipro, Z-Paks, Clindamycin and Flagil.  Since I always have my teeth cleaned before I sail, I also carry Oxycodone and Tylanol #3's in case of infection pain.  Couple those with the Yellow Fever shot and such, and all GTG.
Link Posted: 3/8/2011 11:15:13 AM EDT
[#2]
Prep noob question....

What's the shelf life on this stuff and how do you get it?  I thought that stuff had to be prescribed?

Link Posted: 3/8/2011 11:21:15 AM EDT
[#3]
The only antibiotics I know have a short shelf life.  What are you using that has longevity and can handle heat/etc.?
Link Posted: 3/8/2011 11:53:37 AM EDT
[#4]
Huh?
Link Posted: 3/8/2011 12:40:04 PM EDT
[#5]
I typically have travel meds at the ready and travel fairly regularly to areas with food/waterborne issues. These meds are easily prescribed by visiting a travel medicine doctor and requesting them. These would not be stored in a car trunk but kept ready in a suitable storage area.

Cipro is a godsend if you need it. Trust me on this one.
Link Posted: 3/8/2011 3:25:07 PM EDT
[#6]
Yes, I keep quinolones on hand
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 11:34:54 PM EDT
[#7]
Excellent question!
My BOB medical kit has Amoxicillin 500mg x 40.
Broad spectrum antibiotics are a prescription only medication.