Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/11/2010 10:00:21 AM EDT
I was heading to walmart to build up the lacking BOB, and I saw this setup online, is it any good, reviews say knife is sturdy, but lightweight, I am a knife noob, is this a bad purchase?

Link
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 10:20:14 AM EDT
[#1]
guess you missed "Not Sold in Stores". you can order it online and have it delivered to your local store though.
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 12:05:53 PM EDT
[#2]
Eh, the SOG jungle bowie is alright...

I have a whole drawer full of knives I've used on long back packing excursions... sometimes I never bring a pack... and that means I am really depending on my knife to make do for alot (shelter, tools, Fire production, make snares and all kinds of stuff a knife comes in handy for)...

In my opinon... after all of the knives I've owned.

The best knife I own is a Gerber LMF II Infantry knife. It is down right RUGGED. I've beaten the shit out of that thing and it never stops... It has impressed me.

Bare minimum in a knife, good bang for your buck.... Buy a Ka-Bar.

The Gerber LMF has a few ups on the Ka-Bar, but bang for your buck You really can't be the tried and true Ka-Bar...

Ontario makes some really nice survival knives. I own a few of those that I still take out every one in a while. I've just been stuck on the gerber since i bought it.
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 3:43:56 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
I was heading to walmart to build up the lacking BOB, and I saw this setup online, is it any good, reviews say knife is sturdy, but lightweight, I am a knife noob, is this a bad purchase?

Link

I never understood the attraction to either a tomahawk or a sawback on a knife.

As I understand it the primary purpose of a sawback was on pilots' survival knives to help them saw their way out of an aluminum skinned aircraft if that became necessary. Does not seem like I am real likely to need that feature.