Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/10/2010 8:37:59 AM EDT
Hello forum

I've recently started working out again. Since I graduated from college I started to get really chunky. Chunky doesn't work for survival AT ALL.

My main work out is loading my backpack and heading out for a long walk. I carry anything between 10-40lbs depending on how I feel that day and how much do I want to exert myself.

Lately I've been thinking that I'm doing something wrong. I get serious back pain and leg cramps after 6-7 miles. I'm completely beat after 15 or so miles. I know I'm capable of greater loads and greater distances since my heart rate stays below 100, my respiration is regular, I'm not sweating profusely, I don't have any signs of undue exertion. Yet I get muscle and joint pain.

I came to the conclusion that my technique is totally wrong. I've never been educated on any sort of sports, I've never been in the service, when I cycled competitively for a brief period, I used to go out and cycle till I drop.

My question is this: Can any of you direct me to a source, online or otherwise where I can read about proper walking, marching, rucking etc. It can be a field manual (preferably) or it can be a website. Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 8:40:31 AM EDT
[#1]
First stop: the shoe store. If you are fatigued in a manner in which you think you shouldn't be, esp. with the leg cramps, maybe your shoes don't fit right.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 8:44:34 AM EDT
[#2]
+1 shoes are the first thing to look at. A crappy pair of poorly designed shoes or shoes that don't fit properly can do that.
Link Posted: 9/10/2010 8:48:53 AM EDT
[#3]
I forgot to add guys, thanks for reminding me.

I'm a huge gearwhore so I have the best hiking shoes, socks, shorts and shirts money can buy.

edit: I have an array of hiking, training and running shoes, about half dozen of them and with any sort of gear I have these problems.