Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/24/2009 12:04:05 AM EDT
Hello everyone! I am new to ARFcom as well as to the survival forum.  I have read this forum for awhile and have learned a ton here.  I would like to thank everyone for sharing their knowledge and stories!

A quick story that I thought everyone would enjoy:

I was invited to join a group of friends on a three day summer hike in central Utah several years ago.  I couldn't find my new stove, so a relative loaned me his old Coleman stove.

We drove in and geared up at the trailhead early in the morning and proceeded out with headlamps and hiked/climbed all day.  We stopped at treeline and pitched tents at dusk.

I pulled my stove out and I smelled gas in my pack.  I said to myself, "How can this be?"  I reached down and the fill cap was still on tight.  This stove had a reservoir in the bottom and was pump primed.

I had put the stove in a nylon pouch in the separated lower section of my internal frame pack.  I quickly realized that in the rush of packing I forgot to check the stove to make sure that it was empty and not packed in a filled condition.  This was an "Oh cr#@!" moment. The stove had leaked fuel somehow into the pack and the interior smelled of strong gas fumes.  I proceeded to check my food bag and ALL of my food smelled and tasted like gas!  It was located in the lower middle section of my pack. We were too far up the mountain to turn around, so I ended up having to stave off hunger with donated food and table scraps for the rest of the trip.  The embarrassment was extreme to say the least.......

Lessons learned:

a) Don't pack in haste - PREPACK way ahead of time (It's not fun being a half made sandwich).
b) Make a checklist for your gear and a check box for the status of your critical gear.
c) Double check any critical gear that is borrowed.