Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/16/2006 5:34:47 PM EDT
I am processing with a local police dept and have to take a polygraph. I'm squeaky clean but I'm nervious because I've never done one before. I wondering if anyone has any tips or info that might help me stay calm for my test? Thanks
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 5:37:01 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 5:48:28 PM EDT
[#2]
Don't lie...
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 2:32:25 AM EDT
[#3]
If you've been honest throughout the process and continue to be honest during the polygraph, all you have to do is make sure you breathe consistently.

If you don't, and you hyperventilate, you will pass out.  Passing out during the poly is a bad thing.  At least that's what the polygrapher told me after he related such a story to me.
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 6:01:48 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
If you've been honest throughout the process and continue to be honest during the polygraph, all you have to do is make sure you breathe consistently.

If you don't, and you hyperventilate, you will pass out.  Passing out during the poly is a bad thing.  At least that's what the polygrapher told me after he related such a story to me.

Did he relate this story to you *prior* to administering a poly to you?

Or just a story between buds?
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 7:55:32 AM EDT
[#5]
Just be sure to tell the truth
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 9:46:00 AM EDT
[#6]
Don't read-up anywhere. Don't google it. In fact, stop reading this thread. Seriously.
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 12:06:12 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
Don't read-up anywhere. Don't google it. In fact, stop reading this thread. Seriously.

I'm realizing this is probably the best advise yet (other than the tell the truth).
Link Posted: 3/17/2006 4:06:31 PM EDT
[#8]
Enjoy.  Polygraph isn't as painful as being OC'd & Tasered.   That's probably in your future once you get over this hurdle.

Remember:  The only easy day was yesterday.