Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/21/2006 9:13:28 PM EDT
I was wondering if HR 218 could be applied to a leo like me who is stuck in NY? I have several post ban hi cap magazines & rifles that are defined as "Assault Weapons" by NY law, and I was thinking if I could use HR 218 to cover me when I retire ? In NY the way the law is written, I would have to get rid of any post ban ( post Sept 14th 1994 ) weapons and Hi cap magazines upon retiring. I'm just wondering what ever one thinks and any info would be great.

Thanks & be safe!
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 1:01:28 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm not a lawyer and I can't vouch for what LEO's would actually do to you in your area, but I don't see anything in the law itself that would cover either.  I'm sure there's plenty of people who will tell you to do whatever you want, but they won't pay you legal bills (neither will I but I'm suggesting caution).
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 1:17:48 AM EDT
[#2]
I’d say the answer is “no” regarding your rifles and any hi-cap rifle magazines, and probably "no" regarding any hi-cap pistol magazines.

H.R. 218 (Public Law 108-277) is not as clear as it could be, but the obvious intent deals with concealed carry laws, not laws regarding possession.

Further, while (as far as I can tell) the law only uses the term ‘firearm” in it’s body, the preamble states:

An Act

To amend title 18, United States Code, to exempt qualified current and former law enforcement officers from State laws prohibiting the carrying of concealed handguns.

So my guess is rifles (and presumably rifle magazines) are out anyway!  (Though it does seem you might be able to argue that the above was a clerical error.)

H.R. 218 makes no reference to hi-cap magazines (or, for that matter, hollowpoint bullets) - thus my guess is that H.R. 218 does not exempt folks from any state or local laws prohibiting them.