Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/7/2005 1:02:04 AM EDT
I emailed our local chief about it, he said just fill out the application and come in and take a basic aptitude test.  I talked to some local full-time PD guys and asked what the reserve thing was all about.  They said they basically get you qualified with a side arm, and give you a quick run down on how things work, then you get to put in 10 hours a month just sorta helping out.  Ridding partner with a full-time guy so they aren't spread so thin, doing odd jobs around the station, etc etc.  There's no pay in it, all volunteer.  Should I do it?  I've been a volunteer firefighter for awhile that was pretty fun and got to hang out with a good bunch of guys.  Thanks for your input.
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 1:38:13 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 4:01:16 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I emailed our local chief about it, he said just fill out the application and come in and take a basic aptitude test.  I talked to some local full-time PD guys and asked what the reserve thing was all about.  They said they basically get you qualified with a side arm, and give you a quick run down on how things work, then you get to put in 10 hours a month just sorta helping out.  Ridding partner with a full-time guy so they aren't spread so thin, doing odd jobs around the station, etc etc.  There's no pay in it, all volunteer.  Should I do it?  I've been a volunteer firefighter for awhile that was pretty fun and got to hang out with a good bunch of guys.  Thanks for your input.

I say no. Go back to being a volunteer firefighter.
Link Posted: 8/7/2005 4:41:05 PM EDT
[#3]