Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/28/2018 10:35:04 PM EDT
Just wondering how many here are doing the above.  I'm new to both and am looking to find some good training for computer forensics.
Link Posted: 4/29/2018 8:35:26 PM EDT
[#1]
Some “good training” for somebody new is getting the basics down and meeting the national standards.

The bare minimizing is the ASCLD/LAB standards which local/state agencies should be aware of.  If your federal, most agencies follow the NIST standards.  Depending on what level a person is- depends on what activities they are doing and thereby dictates training.

On an open form I won’t share the software or tools we use.

I will say this, if your agency suddenly threw you into this role and hey don’t have establsished SOP’s, training plan and bought the bare bones required equipment ($50,000 + for a full basic pacakage with equipment, training costs and software), and budgeted for the annual upgrades in equipment and software- tread lightly as you are being set-up for failure.

Nobody touches anything with direct and constant supervision in our shop until they complete the four basic courses - two weeks each.

If you are a true beginner- look at going to FLETC for training.  Done at matter if your a local/state/fed- all can go!  When you leave you will be well on your way and can then call the local US Secret Service, introduce yourself and ask to get in the electronic crimes task force.  You then get a chance to build your skills with folks from all over your area.
Link Posted: 4/30/2018 1:48:13 AM EDT
[#2]
If you're doing this on the law enforcement side, join HTCC. You'll get an avalanche of help
Link Posted: 4/30/2018 2:02:33 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 4/30/2018 9:37:58 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

@bcauz3y
View Quote
Present and accounted for, sir!

What is your background, OP?