Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/4/2002 6:16:41 PM EDT
Gents, since I'm going to be buying body armor in the next few weeks I thought I'd come here, to the folks who wear it everyday, for some advice.

I'm looking for something I can conceal tastefully under a suit but will get the job done. Comfort would be nice too. What have you had good results with, and what have you wished you'd never heard of? Name brands, model names, NIJ levels, sources, links, etc. Thanks.
Link Posted: 8/5/2002 9:48:14 PM EDT
[#1]
I have been wearing armor for over 15 years.
This new zylon material is incredible.I looked in the galls catalog and 2nd chance is making the thinnest lightest vest. I wear one every day and it is the best I have worn.It is light
thin and more comfortable than any vest Ihave ever worn.
Link Posted: 8/6/2002 4:05:46 AM EDT
[#2]
Believe this is what Okie is refering to: [url]http://www.pointblankarmor.com/products/legacy_ballistics.asp[/url]

Mike

PS - better to have it and not need it that the other way around, personally hope ya never need it, but IMHO (and I'm not an LEO) the brand above makes the finest, lightest yet strongest vests.
Link Posted: 8/6/2002 8:14:34 PM EDT
[#3]
If you want to have it completely, undetectably concealed under a suit and tie, go with either:

1) Second Chance Ultima in Level 2A or 2
http://www.secondchance.com/prod.asp?action=ballistic&prodID=5

2) American Body Armor Xtreme ZX in Level 2A or 2.
http://www.xtremearmor.com/

Both are made of Zylon and are literally paper thin.  There is NOTHING else that comes close in terms of thinness.    
Link Posted: 8/13/2002 7:46:56 AM EDT
[#4]
I've had a second chance "tri-flex" for a little over a year.  Best vest I've had yet.  It's in level II.  If you aren't going to wear it everyday for several hours at a time, I would reccommend a second chance "sc229" in IIA.  Just my opinion.  Hope it helps.