Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/7/2001 6:39:17 AM EDT
... and how did they do it?  I know there are a lot of guys around here that would like to get their girlfriends/wives into shooting and are unsure as to how to introduce guns.  Plus the stories are sometimes interesting. [:D]

I grew up in a rural area where the boys would go hunting and the women would clean and cook what they brought back.  I joke that I was wasn't allowed to touch their rifles because I might give it "woman's disease."  

It was actually my ex-husband that got me into shooting.... the irony was that I was qualified as gun and missile technician BEFORE I started shooting handguns and rifles.  

My ex was a competitive shooter and it was his passion for the sport that intrigued me.  But, (as is the case with a lot of women) having not handled small arms before, I would get nervous around them.  My ex would ALWAYS have a weapon out.. if not two or three or... [:D]  He would clean them, dry fire, etc, usually in the evening when we were sitting and talking or watching t.v.  After watching for a while, I started to handle them... he showed me how to operate the slide lock, insert and drop a mag, operate the safety, secure a weapon.  All of this was before I ever went to a range.  

By the time I did got to the range, I was already well-versed in safety and felt comfortable with what was expected of me on the firing line.  He started me off with a .22 and I very quickly moved up to my .41 magnum (it was discovered early on that I am a recoil junkie).  

Even though things didn't work out between he and I, he did leave me with an interest in firearms.  

What about the rest of y'all?
Link Posted: 11/7/2001 7:07:57 AM EDT
[#1]
My intro to "gaugeguns"...