Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/14/2006 6:03:03 PM EDT
Hello Ladies,

I am pretty new to AR.COM and when I saw the ladies forum I thought maybe I could get some female perspective.  I grew up around firearms and I love the shooting sports.  My wife is the complete opposite.  She is scared to death and absolutely hates firearms and refuses to touch them, hold them, and god forbid she fire one.  We are very close, and do almost everything else together, except shoot.  I would love to get her to go to the range with me, but everytime I bring it up, she'll hear nothing of the sort.  I mainly want her to learn how to shoot, so she would be able to defend herself, should the need ever arise, which I hope it never does, but any suggestions on how I can break the shell would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.  
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 6:10:34 PM EDT
[#1]
I totally used to hate the evil black rifles.  Hunting was ok.  I'd leave some articles laying around pointing out different scenerios about self defense.  Ask her to help you clean your weapons after a day at the range.  Then explain that you want her to be able to defend the homestead if the need arose.  Offer to take JUST HER OUT shooting to get familliar with the guns.  Take it slow and don't push.  She just needs to see the practicality of it.  IMO.
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 6:25:23 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm not really even concerned about her shooting all of my guns, especially my precious AR.  LOL.
But I'd at least like her to be able to handle my .38 spl, and maybe accompany me to the range once in a while.  Thanks for the opinion.  
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 6:28:06 PM EDT
[#3]
I'm not a woman but I would say stop cooking for her until she listens to reason. She might only last for a few days before she talks about guns alittle more openly.
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 6:30:51 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 7:25:46 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted: