Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/30/2004 9:21:18 AM EDT
I'm a college student from MA, currently going to school in TN. Recently a classmate of mine (who lives off campus) got a Remington 700 and found a free shooting range in the area. Unfortunately, my rifle is currently in MA (my mother has a gun license and is holding onto it). What would I need to do to legally ship this gun from my mother to my friend so he can hold onto it?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 9:32:51 AM EDT
[#1]
If it's YOUR rifle in Mass, just drive back and get it, then give to your friend for safekeeping.

If your mom ships it (UPS, FedEx, USPS) it will have to be received by a an FFL dealer in Tennessee, since the shipment was across state lines.  There you should execute the transfer with the dealer then hand the gun to your friend.

Since you are living in Tennessee, you need not concern yourself with your Mass Firearms ID Card.

I'd just drive over to get it, and leave the govt. out of the whole deal.
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 11:11:08 AM EDT
[#2]
It's my rifle (did the transfer paperwork as soon as I hit 21), but I don't have a car so I can't just drive up to get it. Besides, I don't have licenses for all of the states I would drive through (and NY and NJ are supposedly nasty about AR-15s).

I spend 8 months out of the year in TN, and the other 4 months in MA, so I need to have a MA license so I can shoot it when I'm back up there.
Link Posted: 8/31/2004 11:49:43 AM EDT
[#3]
There is no license required or even available to transport a rifle/shotgun through NY or NJ.  The only requirement is that it must be unloaded in both chamber and magazine and either:

1.  Locked in the trunk of the vehicle separate from the ammunition (this is preferred)

or

2.  If the vehicle has no trunk it should be in a locked case separate from the ammunition in the passenger compartment