Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/13/2013 3:26:09 PM EDT
Before I get into the story of my denial let me start by telling you all about my criminal history.
Twelve years ago when I was a freshman in college, 18 years of age, I was at a bar which was raided by ABC.  I was charged with with a MIP of alcohol and a false ID, my brother's expired ID with nothing altered on it in any way.
I was able to get off with youthful offender and I ended up doing close to 100 hours of community service.  Picked up a lot of trash on 15th street and spent a lot of time at the West Alabama Food Bank.

During the twelve years since I've purchased a few guns, both pistols and long guns.  The last purchase I made was at a FFL in north Alabama about two years ago.  The background check went off without a hitch and I walked out with my M&P .40 same day.

Last week I purchased a rifle on gunbroker.  It was delivered from a FFL in Florida to a FFL in Alabama.  The seller was very easy to talk to and it went off without any problems.  That was until it was time to pick up the rifle at my FFL.  I walked in and filled out the 4473 at which time the call was made to the FBI for the NICS background check.  The guy was on the phone for a while and he had both my drivers license and SSN.  After an extended period of time he hung up the phone and told me my request was denied.  It was like someone punched me in the gut.  I had made purchases before and hadn't had the slightest hiccup on my record since the MIP and false ID 12 years ago.  I was almost in a state of panic wondering if someone had stolen my identity or if some clerical error caused a pervious charge to be upgraded incorrectly.  Heck I even had family members saying it may be my recent travels to India and South Africa that I made within a year for business, crazy but it makes about as much sense as anything else.