Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/20/2002 10:29:28 AM EDT
Just wondering if any of the members have any ex
perience with reflex or holographic sights? Thanks in advance for any feedback.          
(sniper)

Link Posted: 1/20/2002 10:42:10 AM EDT
[#1]
I have some experience.

IME, they're only really good within 100 yards.  Personally, if you're keeping things within 100 yards, I don't see why your iron sights would slow you down.  

They're neat toys, and maybe they help some people... but they aren't really worth the $300 to me.

Beyond 100 yards, get a scope.

YMMV.
Link Posted: 1/20/2002 1:20:44 PM EDT
[#2]
The are GREAT... If you are shooting tactical short range.

MUCH faster than any other kind of sight.  
The shot goes where the dot is no matter how your eye is positioned.

The tascos are very good but use batteries.  The best thing about the Reflex is that is uses no batteries and even works at night with tritium.  
Link Posted: 1/20/2002 1:41:22 PM EDT
[#3]
The Holosight- was a potential buy for me but the idea that you could not change reticules on the the newer and more compact model was idiotic. What kinda new and improved is that? But the newer model is available in Night Vision Compatible.
AimPoint- Was going to buy this but like the Holosight it is not legal (maybe not anymore) for the SOF magazine 3gun match. It to needs batteries, and newer models are also night vision compatible.
Reflex II - Is what I did purchase 12.5MOA triangle sight. Very fast, no canting, no batteries, in use with special forces and a smaller profile on the rifle. Plus its 3 gun match legal.
Just my 2 cents........[argue]

JerrY
Link Posted: 1/20/2002 1:50:56 PM EDT
[#4]
You bet.

[url]http://communities.msn.com/TheMarylandAR15ShootersSite/opticssights.msnw[/url]

Reviews of:

Contender 6-24x 50mm  BSA Optics  

Forward Optic Mount  Leapers, Inc (China)  

2nd Generation Riser Mount  Tapco Inc.