Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 2/25/2007 9:06:52 AM EDT
I live about 20 miles from work, half of that would be in city driving.
I'm 48 and I have never owned a street bike... but.. I raced  dirt bikes
off road from 1978 to 1994 in which I have logged 6000 race miles, so
I'll adapt.  It looks like the Suzuki GSX 750 appears to be the front runner
but I'm still studying all of the data.  It looks like used 1000cc bikes are not
too far behind in price and I wouln't rule out a 600cc ??  What say you ??
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 9:11:01 AM EDT
[#1]
Get something more comfy but still sport...say honda vfr

You will thank your aging wrists.
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 9:13:37 AM EDT
[#2]
I sold my Suzuki SV650s last fall and am considering getting an SV1000 come summer time.

I suggest you ride an SV650s and see how you like it.  It has the look of a sport bike, but the power is extemely smooth being a L-twin.  It is also far more comfortable in my opinion than most sport bikes.  Another factor is insurance, and since the SV650s is still considered a 'standard' and not a sport bike. It is very cheap.  I think I was paying like $140 a year for liability on it.  It was an 02 worth about $3500, so paying $1200 a year for full coverage really didn't make sense to me.

You will also love the sound of the SV650.

$.02
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 9:14:06 AM EDT
[#3]
honda 996 superhawks can be bought real cheap now.
with a little suspension work they are sweet!

out of the box 2000 up gixxer 750 rock.
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 9:18:53 AM EDT
[#4]
Gixxer thou'

'nuff said
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 9:21:28 AM EDT
[#5]