Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/19/2001 9:34:27 AM EDT
What are the differneces between these besides the name.  percentage of interchangable components, etc?

Also, I have heard some say all M14s were select fire and other say that some were semi and some select fire.

Thanks
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 9:40:01 AM EDT
[#1]
Among other things, the M-14 was produced by a variety of manufacturers especially for the US government.
The M1A is a commercial product, with the name trademarked, produced for retail sale by Springfield Armory.
I'll let the guys who own and shoot them lay out the technical differences for you.
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 9:45:31 AM EDT
[#2]
I'm not an expert on this subject, I believe you basically got it right.  The M1A is a trademarked name by the private company Springfield Armory.  The real govt-issued M14 has a forged receiver where as the M1A is an investment casting.  Most of the parts from what I can see are interchangeable.  The DCM/CMP was selling parts from M14s that were ordered destroyed by Bill Clinton.  Check out [url]www.fulton-armoury.com[/url] they have a lot of info on this subject.  And also check out their link to the civilian marksman program.
Link Posted: 9/19/2001 9:57:39 AM EDT
[#3]