Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/10/2001 11:04:28 PM EDT
I have the chance to pick up a stainless loaded springfield full size 1911 NIB chambered in .40 for $525.  Its either that or a Para Ordnance p-14 for who knows how much.  Whats the better choice?
Link Posted: 9/11/2001 7:59:23 PM EDT
[#1]
Springfield.  I've had no experience with PA guns myself, but I've seen lots of them jam at matches.  Lots of people say their PA guns run great, but I have yet to see one.  SA, on the other hand, makes a very good product for the money.
Link Posted: 9/11/2001 8:02:26 PM EDT
[#2]
Between the Springfield and the Para I'd have to say the Kimber is the better pistol.
Link Posted: 9/11/2001 8:06:45 PM EDT
[#3]
I'd rather have the springfield due to the narrower grip but would prefer the.45 instead of the .40.
Link Posted: 9/11/2001 8:12:53 PM EDT
[#4]
About 4 years ago, I purchased a new Wilson Combat Classic.  Awesome pistol.  I have no regrets, but it I could do it over, I would buy one of the Springfield "loaded".  I would then have a good gunsmith give it a trigger job and maybe add night sights and put the rest into practice ammo or reloading components.  Kimbers are nice too, but they use a lot of MIM parts.
Link Posted: 9/11/2001 8:29:10 PM EDT
[#5]
I honestly believe that 1911s
are more reliabe
when chambered for longer
cartridges.

Link Posted: 9/11/2001 9:35:06 PM EDT
[#6]
Schapman43,
I have an out of the box Springfield, no failures to feed or fire.(2500+ rounds) great confidence in it's performance. My gun only.
Good Luck
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!