Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/4/2006 8:36:51 PM EDT
Specifically MDF with an automotive grade Base / Clear paint? What should i prime with to seal the wood? I'm trying to make cabinet doors, and I need a high mirror gloss black and silver. This is about the only way I can think of getting what I want. Any other ideas are welcome also.

Thanks,
Kris
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 8:37:58 PM EDT
[#1]
You can................ Why not cover them in formica (sp?) and paint that?
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 8:38:49 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
You can................ Why not cover them in formica (sp?) and paint that?

Ehh you beat me with the edit.

Anyways, I don't think the Formica would conform to the curves.
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 8:41:44 PM EDT
[#3]
I'd imagine you could if you put on a layer of primer, but i'm no expert.
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 8:48:23 PM EDT
[#4]
Bondo sand and paint!! Just like a speaker box!!
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 9:01:06 PM EDT
[#5]
If it's the gloss that you need, use an oil-based paint on the wood, then coat with automotive clearcoat.  My 10/22 was done this way on a laminated wood stock.  Paint was hand rubbed on (and excess removed, then recoated) then had several coats of automotive clear put on.  Followed up with 600 and 1000 grit wet sanding.  Smooooooooooooooooth and glossy.

Woody
Link Posted: 4/4/2006 9:16:21 PM EDT
[#6]
Some of the harder less pores woods you can but it needs a primer. Soft woods like pine are awful hard to do.
Link Posted: 4/5/2006 12:26:50 PM EDT
[#7]
I wonder how well it will hold up though.
Link Posted: 4/5/2006 12:37:58 PM EDT
[#8]
MDF, being a man made product has a uniform density and porosity. It is smooth and an excellent surface to paint.