Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/9/2006 6:29:34 AM EDT
19.  Is it illegal to have a knife with a blade over 3 inches in my possession?

MCL 750.226 No. Michigan law specifies that a person, with intent to use the knife unlawfully against another, shall not go armed with a knife having a blade over 3 inches in length.

So,if you dont intend to use it unlawfully, how long of a knife can you carry ?

Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:32:53 AM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
19.  Is it illegal to have a knife with a blade over 3 inches in my possession?

MCL 750.226 No. Michigan law specifies that a person, with intent to use the knife unlawfully against another, shall not go armed with a knife having a blade over 3 inches in length.

So,if you dont intend to use it unlawfully, how long of a knife can you carry ?

I think it means that its ok to stab someone with a 2 7/8" blade

ETA: I am not a lawyer.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:33:34 AM EDT
[#2]
That is one of Michigan's stupid "gray area" laws...

I have a CRKT M16 folder (the full size one) that I've carried from time to time but for the most part I carry shorter, "definitely legal" blades.

Strictly reading the law, you could carry it as long as you didn't plan to commit a crime with it.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:34:56 AM EDT
[#3]
Pretty much as long as you aren't flashing it or threatening anyone with it you're fine with whatever.  Don't ask don't tell. YMMV
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:34:56 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:

The key word is "Intent". You're not planning on stabbing someone, are you? If not, then you're good to go.
Link Posted: 3/9/2006 6:35:20 AM EDT
[#5]
Heres the problem... "intent" is something which you cannot prove. You can't demonstrate having or not having an intent to use a knife in any fashion. Therefore, if they want to, you can be persecuted for "posession of a weapon with intent" ... even if your so-called intent was to use it for box cutting.