Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/17/2006 8:36:24 PM EDT
I realize this post will not be a new revalation, nor even particularly enlightening to most but since I happen to make a direct observation I decided to post it just the same.

Many people consider me, and those like me, to be a "knowledgeable person" with respect to the usual topics associated with this forum.

This is mainly because I can express myself "reasonably well", seem to make logical and practical sense, and I apparantly have experience with a wide variety of weapons, etc. And as most of my replies are in "general agreement" with the majority of the other EF Huttons on this forum I have a degree of credibility.

In contrast I personally know an individual who is far more knowledgeable regarding firearms than I am, has combat experience I will never have, actually IS special forces and has been since I was in Middle School. However, he is NOT terribly educated, doesn't organize and express his thoughts as well and can't type for shit. He also RARELY has time to fart around on the internet and has only a vague grasp on what message board communities are really like.

But so I can keep in touch with him when he is not local I did help him register an account on another internet forum last year. He understood the concept of a message board and liked it better than email, sorta like a "party line" where he can update everyone at once.

Well today on this forum (which I'm not gonna name) the subject of small arms and combative applications arose and this individual made the mistake of offering an opinion based upon his experience. And sadly for him, it did NOT concur with current XBox small arms doctrine and the 12 year olds and airsofters came out of the woodwork to denounce him. After all this guy couldn't even spell the big words and he didn't think hanging 12 pounds of shit on a rifle was the best thing to do.