Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/8/2001 6:23:16 PM EDT
It was mentioned to me today vociferoulsly that a .22lr will penetrate BP Vests.

I said maybe in the old days but the Lady persisted saying "Well this cop told me yada yada blah blah blah.

She just bought a .32 Berretta and is taking her CCW class. And she's convinced that it's a VERY potent pistol. But yet won't have any recoil because it's so nice and small.
I was trying to explain Sanow's 1 shot stop ratio. And how ineffective certain rounds are.
Or could be in given situation.
Link Posted: 8/8/2001 6:26:26 PM EDT
[#1]
If it manages to hit between the panels, maybe.
Link Posted: 8/8/2001 6:58:50 PM EDT
[#2]
Yeah.
Link Posted: 8/8/2001 7:08:16 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 8/8/2001 7:29:24 PM EDT
[#4]
I am no expert, but think any new Level 1 vest will stop a .22lr.  I suspect most LEO's wear at least a Level IIa, which are rated to stop a .357 mag.  I suppose if you were shot in the eye, the vest wouldn't stop it.  Hopefully, somebody will set her straight about her mouse gun.  It is better than nothing, but I wouldn't use it as my primary defense.
Link Posted: 8/8/2001 8:10:29 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 8/9/2001 12:31:03 AM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
... .32 Berretta ....
I was trying to explain Sanow's 1 shot stop ratio. And how ineffective certain rounds are.
View Quote

Problem with that angle is the 32 ACP in ball ammo has about the same stop ratio as 45 ACP.

Link Posted: 8/9/2001 2:44:30 AM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
Quoted:
... .32 Berretta ....
View Quote

Problem with that angle is the 32 ACP in ball ammo has about the same stop ratio as 45 ACP.

View Quote

??hmmm??
If that is so then at least you have bullet mass and diameter working for you.
And probably only when talking fmj ammo.
Link Posted: 8/9/2001 2:55:59 AM EDT
[#8]
Quoted: