Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/23/2006 3:39:54 AM EDT
I went to a gun show over the weekend and a local shop had set up some tables.  They had a KelTec PLR-16 pistol with a forward vertical grip attached.

I asked, "Doesn't that grip make it an AOW under the Class III rules?"

The guy stared back at me with a big question mark over his head.  He said, "I don't think so."

I told him, "I'm not a lawyer, I even don't play one in the movies, but I'm pretty sure that's a violation if you don't have BATF paperwork on it."

He just kinda shrugged his shoulders and said they'd check on it, commenting that it's so hard to keep up with all the rules.

As I understand it, mounting that grip without paperwork was illegal.  Shouldn't a dealer know this stuff?

Any thoughts?
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 3:42:15 AM EDT
[#1]
Technically it is an AOW but I think the vertical grip may have to be permanently attached. I would not risk it however.
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 4:04:52 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Technically it is an AOW but I think the vertical grip may have to be permanently attached. I would not risk it however.

It was bolted on with a clamp around the barrel.
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 4:15:08 AM EDT
[#3]
I beleive you would be right AOW
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 4:21:15 AM EDT
[#4]
as far as i understand, it's technically an AOW but there's a bit of a debate going on with that. Something about it not having the grip when it left the factory and not as the manufacturer intended it or something. someone might come along and post up the ATF letters that have been written on this issue.
Link Posted: 1/23/2006 4:23:05 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
I went to a gun show over the weekend and a local shop had set up some tables.  They had a KelTec PLR-16 pistol with a forward vertical grip attached.

I asked, "Doesn't that grip make it an AOW under the Class III rules?"