Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/25/2005 2:45:02 PM EDT
Can someone recommend a good router to play XBox Live with. I can't hook the XBox up directly to my cable modem because it's clear across the house by the computer.

I have ZERO knowledge about routers and need help. Are they just as fast as having a direct hook-up?

Thanks for your help.
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:46:25 PM EDT
[#1]
Linksys routers are the best that I have dealt with.  Easier to configure, and more stable than any other brand of router, at least on my companies network.

I use a SonicWALL myself though.  
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:46:55 PM EDT
[#2]
Do you want a Wireless setup?

if so they make WiFi acess points for consoles and than you would just need a Wireless router
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:49:23 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

if so they make WiFi acess points for consoles and than you would just need a Wireless router

Increases latency and gives you more lag than if you hardwire it though.
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:50:09 PM EDT
[#4]
I have  mine setup through a LInksys wireless router.  Its great!!
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:53:06 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

I will have to go the wireless route. Were can I get a Linksys wireless router? How much do the usually run?
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:53:58 PM EDT
[#6]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Yeah, but he said somthing about it being acroos the house, as a bad thing.
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:54:37 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:

Quoted:

I will have to go the wireless route. Were can I get a Linksys wireless router? How much do the usually run?

Newegg.com

$45-$60

Defiantely consider going with a wired connection to the router.  You will thank me later.
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:55:39 PM EDT
[#8]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Quoted:

Its not difficult to run CAT5.
Link Posted: 12/25/2005 2:56:53 PM EDT
[#9]

Quoted:

Quoted:

Quoted:

Newegg.com

$45-$60