Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/6/2005 10:55:55 AM EDT
I'm looking into getting a second dog.  Anyone have first hand info on Rhodesian Ridgebacks?  I've already read a bunch.  

Thanks
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:30:25 PM EDT
[#1]
Cool dogs!  They are very loyal, get along well with other dogs, and run like freakin' greyhounds!
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:39:11 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm a vet. The ones that I deal with have been very pleasant to work with, but my sample size is small- there aren't many around here.
-Hobbit
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:42:19 PM EDT
[#3]
Only had first hand experience with one bitch.  She was as pleasant as most Setters, loved to run like a greyhound and was far from a hyper dog.

It wouldn't seem right to keep such a dog in a normal suburban home unless you are very good about taking them out running every day.
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:43:52 PM EDT
[#4]
Absolutely awesome dogs. My Aunt has one called "Sultan"...It's just a big softie, but I'd imagine it'd be good for taking down goblins etc.
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:45:11 PM EDT
[#5]
My friends uncle has one, I took care of him for a week.  Very cool dog.  Damn big though.
Link Posted: 10/6/2005 3:46:14 PM EDT
[#6]
Here is more information on the breed.  They originally were used for hunting lions.  When you see them run, you'll believe it!

WHAT IS A RHODESIAN RIDGEBACK?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HISTORICAL INFORMATION

The Rhodesian Ridgeback is a native of South Africa. Its long history dates back to the early 16th century when European settlers found a domesticated dog with the Hottentot tribe. This dog, which had a distinctive ridge of fur along its spine, was selectively bred with dogs from the European continent to develop a new breed now known as the Rhodesian Ridgeback.